Upcoming Events

    Aug 24

    August Chapter Luncheon

    Five Ways to Think Like a Reporter in Securing Client Media Coverage

    Register Now

    Sep 28

    September Chapter Luncheon

    Summer’s Over: Now What? It’s Time for an Employee Engagement B12 Shot!

    Register Now

    Jan 25

    IABC Chapter Luncheon

    Join us for our January luncheon

    Register Now

    Past Presidents

    This List Reflects an Evolving Communications Industry

    In 1946 a group of founding members chartered the Gulf Coast Chapter of the Society of Associated Industrial Editors (SAIE) which later became the Southeast Texas Industrial Editors (STIE) before it merged with and became an IABC chapter in 1970.

    Since that time, presidents of the chapter have reflected the changes in the communications industry. Early leaders were almost exclusively from the energy industry and its supporting services companies. And, for the first 24 years, they were all men. Over the last twenty years, the industry mix has expanded to include a variety of industries, agencies and entrepreneurs. Our roles have evolved well beyond the industrial editor. And, clearly, there are a lot more women in leadership roles now.

    The following list contains the names of some communicators who have become legends in our field. Many of the early leaders are now gone, and others have changed jobs multiple times. We salute these past and future presidents of IABC/Houston for their contribution to our chapter and the profession. 

    Year President Employer at the Time
    2014 Suzy Hartgrove City of Houston Planning and Development Department
    2013 Mark Hiebert Hiebert Photography
    2012 Mary Hardin Francis Hardin-Francis Enterprises, LLC
    2011 Elaine W Krause Communications Outsourcing
    2010 Nancy Trowbridge The Menninger Clinic
    2009 Joi Lecznar BG Group
    2008 Theresa Parker Torma Communications
    2007 Susan Burnell APR Imagination Ink
    2006 Pam McConathy Pierpont Communications
    2005 Ginger Bertrand Bertrand Communications, Inc.
    2004 Joe Fournet Ideas & More
    2003 Ann Allen Ann Allen, Inc.
    2001/02 Becky Lowicki ABC Halliburton
    1999/00 April Canik ABC Canik Communications
    1998 Beth S. Miller ABC Comsys
    1997 Patricia Schroeder ABC Schroeder Business Communications
    1996 Suzanne Salvo Salvo Photography
    1995 Dana Durman American Ref-Fuel Company
    1994 Lin L. Fish Linden Communications
    1993 Kathleen Abel ABC/APR Shell Oil Company
    1992 Jim Rutledge* ABC/APR Brown, Nelson & Associates, Inc.
    1992 Teresa Wong Museum and Arts Magazine
    1991 Mark Singer Shell Oil Company
    1990 Wendy Adair University of Houston
    1989 Karin Knapp ABC Union Texas Petroleum
    1988 Anne Feltus Anne Feltus Communications
    1987 Elaine McCasland Enron Corp
    1985/86 Alice Brink ABC/APR Coca-Cola Company
    1984 Ethan Hirsh Churchill Group, Inc.
    1983 Susan Allen ABC Seiscom Delta, Inc.
    1982 Anne Ribble ABC IBM Corporation
    1981 Ben Wheatley ABC/APR Conoco Chemicals
    1980 John Ziegmann Baxter & Korge
    1979 Ann Baird Bank of the Southwest
    1978 Beverly Freeman Gulf Oil Corporation
    1977 Mickey Driver ABC Gulf Oil Corporation
    1976 Susan Hedding Rowan Companies, Inc.
    1975 Bill Lawrence Texas Manufacturers Association
    1974 Tom Torget Burmah Oil Company
    1973 Steve Sawyer Tenneco, Inc
    1972 Elizabeth Calderon* Bank of the Southwest
    1971 Lee Corkill Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1970 Sara Betterton Texas Gulf Sulfur Company
    1969 Charles Riesen* Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1968 Jerry Segal Mandrel Industries, Inc.
    1967 Bill Hogan* Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1966 Tom Sneed American General Contractors
    1965 John Johnson Trunkline Gas Company
    1964 Russ Burget Columbia Gulf Transmission Company
    1963 Stan Hoig Baroid
    1962 Bill Askin Texas Gulf Sulphur Company
    1961 Bud Schaurte Continental Gas Company
    1960 Frank Praytor Trunkline Gas Company
    1959 J.B. LeRay Ethyl Corporation
    1958 Charles Bryant* Baroid
    1957 Al Smith Tennessee Gas Transmission Company
    1956 Gene Legler* Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1955 Jay Rose* Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1954 Jack Raglin Continental Oil Company
    1953 Downs Matthews* ABC Schlumberger Well Services
    1952 Frank Fields* Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1951 Bob Burke Foley’s
    1950 Bob Latimer Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1949 Guy Fausset* Shell Oil Company
    1948 Jack Shannon* Humble Oil & Refining Company
    1947 Bill House* Hughes Tool Company
    1946 Michael Koury Champion Paper Company