Upcoming Events

Jan 30

IABC Networking Nine at Sixty Vines

Join us for this members-only event!

Register Now

Feb 11

IABC February Happy Hour

Join IABC Houston at our February Happy Hour!

Register Now

Feb 13

ESIG: Navigating #MeToo for successful interactions

The #MeToo movement presents new challenges for communicators

Register Now

Feb 27

Behind The Scenes: MD Anderson’s Nobel Prize Campaign

Join IABC Houston for this insightful panel discussion

Register Now

2019 Executive Communicator of the Year

The International Association of Business Communicators (IABC), Houston Chapter, is honoring chairman and president of BP America Susan Dio as its 2019 Executive Communicator of the Year for her excellence in strategic business leadership and dedication to the advancement of women in energy.

In her role, Susan provides leadership and oversight to BP’s U.S. businesses, which employ around 14,000 people. She was appointed to the BP Plc Executive Team in September 2018, and also serves as chairman of the BP America Board of Directors.

IABC Houston will formally present Dio with this award on June 27, 2019, at the annual Bronze Quill Awards Gala – recognizing excellence in communications – to be held at the Junior League of Houston.

Beyond BP, she is a member of the API Board and Executive Committee, the Greater Houston Partnership Executive Committee, and the Ford’s Theatre Board of Trustees Executive Committee.

IABC Houston Executive Communicator of the Year Award
IABC Houston annually recognizes the achievements of an area executive whose outstanding professional performance significantly contributes to the Houston communication profession by initiating, directing, supporting or sustaining outstanding and effective communications programs. Through this recognition, IABC Houston honors a leader who understands and actively supports good communication practices in the nominee’s company, institution or organization. A qualifying nominee must:

  • Be an active senior executive (communication and public relations professionals are ineligible),

  • Demonstrate a solid understanding and support of communication practices within the nominee’s organization, and

  • Exemplify the highest ethical and professional standards in fulfilling the nominee’s responsibilities.

Previous recipients

The winners of this annual award are recognized each year at the IABC Houston Bronze Quill awards gala. We are grateful to them, their employees and colleagues for all they do for Houston business communicators. We salute the following distinguished role models.

Past Winners

2018 – Ed Emmett, Harris County Judge
2017 – Joel Cowley, President & CEO, Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo
2016 – Jim McIngvale, Owner, Gallery Furniture
2015 –  Carolyn Sanders, Former VP of HR and Public Affairs, Total Petrochemicals and Refining USA
2014 – Angela Blanchard, President and CEO, Neighborhood Centers Inc.
2013 – Joy Horak-Brown, Executive Director, New Hope Housing, Inc.
2012 – Dr. Renu Khator, PhD, President of the University of Houston and Chancellor of the University of Houston System
2011 – James L Gallogly, Chief Executive Officer, LyondellBasell Industries
2010 – Bob Hale, President & CEO, Houston Association of REALTORS® 2010 – Greg Garland, President & CEO (former), Chevron Phillips Chemical
2009 – John C. Sheptor, President & CEO (former), Imperial Sugar Company
2008 – Dr. Giuseppe Colasurdo, President of the The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and former Dean of the UTHSC - Houston Medical School
2007 – John D. Hofmeister, President (former) of Shell Oil Company
2006 – J. William "Bill" Boyar, Chairman (former) of BoyarMiller, Attorneys at Law 
2005 – Clark Baker, President and CEO of the YMCA of Greater Houston
2004 – John D. Stobo, M.D., President (former), the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
2003 – Jacqueline S. Martin, President (former), United Way of the Texas Gulf Coast
2002 – Steve Miller, CEO (retired), Shell Oil Company
2001 – Kirbyjon Caldwell, Senior Pastor of Windsor Village United Methodist Church

IABC Houston Legacy Award

2013 - Fred J. Korge
2014 - Downs Matthews