Upcoming Events

Jun 11

2020 Bronze Quill Awards

Celebrate Houston's top communicators!

Register Now

2020 Executive Communicator of the Year

IABC Houston Executive Communicator of the Year Award
IABC Houston annually recognizes the achievements of an area executive whose outstanding professional performance significantly contributes to the Houston communication profession by initiating, directing, supporting or sustaining outstanding and effective communications programs. Through this recognition, IABC Houston honors a leader who understands and actively supports good communication practices in the nominee’s company, institution or organization. A qualifying nominee must:

  • Be an active senior executive (communication and public relations professionals are ineligible),

  • Demonstrate a solid understanding and support of communication practices within the nominee’s organization, and

  • Exemplify the highest ethical and professional standards in fulfilling the nominee’s responsibilities.

Previous recipients

The winners of this annual award are recognized each year at the IABC Houston Bronze Quill awards gala. We are grateful to them, their employees and colleagues for all they do for Houston business communicators. We salute the following distinguished role models.

Past Winners

2019 – Susan Dio, President and CEO, BP America
2018 – Ed Emmett, Harris County Judge
2017 – Joel Cowley, President & CEO, Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo
2016 – Jim McIngvale, Owner, Gallery Furniture
2015 –  Carolyn Sanders, Former VP of HR and Public Affairs, Total Petrochemicals and Refining USA
2014 – Angela Blanchard, President and CEO, Neighborhood Centers Inc.
2013 – Joy Horak-Brown, Executive Director, New Hope Housing, Inc.
2012 – Dr. Renu Khator, PhD, President of the University of Houston and Chancellor of the University of Houston System
2011 – James L Gallogly, Chief Executive Officer, LyondellBasell Industries
2010 – Bob Hale, President & CEO, Houston Association of REALTORS® 2010 – Greg Garland, President & CEO (former), Chevron Phillips Chemical
2009 – John C. Sheptor, President & CEO (former), Imperial Sugar Company
2008 – Dr. Giuseppe Colasurdo, President of the The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and former Dean of the UTHSC - Houston Medical School
2007 – John D. Hofmeister, President (former) of Shell Oil Company
2006 – J. William "Bill" Boyar, Chairman (former) of BoyarMiller, Attorneys at Law 
2005 – Clark Baker, President and CEO of the YMCA of Greater Houston
2004 – John D. Stobo, M.D., President (former), the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
2003 – Jacqueline S. Martin, President (former), United Way of the Texas Gulf Coast
2002 – Steve Miller, CEO (retired), Shell Oil Company
2001 – Kirbyjon Caldwell, Senior Pastor of Windsor Village United Methodist Church

IABC Houston Legacy Award

2013 - Fred J. Korge
2014 - Downs Matthews